Moe Life Skills Community Centre is a not-for-profit organisation and tax exempt charity. We are incorporated in Victoria and governed by a volunteer Board of Management which meets monthly. All Board members have a strong interest, commitment and passion for improving the lives of people with a disability. Our Board members volunteer their professional time and experience to oversee the maintenance and development of quality services and our sound financial base.

Sue Carroll
President & Acting Treasurer

Sue Carroll, President & Acting Treasurer
Sue is the chair of the Moe Life Skills Board of Management. She was elected to the Board in 2007. Sue holds an MPET and a Bachelor of Business and is currently employed as an Office Manager at Latrobe Regional Hospital. She has had a keen interest and long involvement with people with disabilities. At Moe Life Skills she has served on various committees prior to being the chair.

Bill Lawler
Vice President

Bill Lawler, Vice President
Bill has had a long association with the disability sector and has recently resigned from his position as Rural Access Project Officer at Latrobe City, a position which he held for the past 11 years. Prior to this position, Bill was the Advocacy Coordinator with the Gippsland Disability Resource Council for 10 years, advocating for the rights for people with a disability at individual and systemic levels. In 2012, Bill was recognised for over 20 years of service in the disability sector by receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award, a category of the Victorian Disability Sector Awards.

Deidre 1
Deidre Carmichael

Deidre Carmichael, Secretary
Deidre was part of the Steering Committee that established Moe Life Skills in 1986, and has served on the Board since. She has held the positions of Chairperson and Treasurer and served on a range of sub committees. Deidre has a Bachelor of Art in Education, a Graduate Diploma of Special Education and is a Trained Teacher of children with disabilities. She taught at Traralgon Special Development School (TSDS) for 17 years and in Primary Schools for 10 years, developing an understanding of teaching and learning, curriculum and policy development. Deidre has a strong commitment, over many years, to supporting families, improving outcomes for people with disabilities and advocating for their right to be treated with dignity and accepted citizens in their communities.

Dr Tanja Bohl
Board Member

Dr. Tanja Bohl, Board Member
Dr Tanja Bohl is trained as a Dermatologist (Skin Specialist) and has a practice located in Newborough. Tanja firmly believes in passing on her knowledge and skills and has taught via the Gippsland School of Rural Health. As a clinician, Tanja has received several awards and honours for her work and she maintains a strong interest in educating women about their own health. Tanja has been a member of the Board of Management since 2010.

Vic 1
Vic Micallef
Board Member

Vic Micallef, Board Member
Appointed to the Board of Management in 2011, Vic was born in Yallourn and grew up in Moe, attending Moe High School (now Lowanna College). Vic has made a career in the banking industry, spanning more than 25 years with a major bank and a mutual credit union – formerly BankMECU, now known as Bank Australia. He is a member of the Moe Life Skills Workplace Health and Safety and HR Committees.

Amanda McMahon
Board Member

Amanda McMahon, Board Member
Amanda currently works full time as a Community Engagement Officer at Latrobe Regional Hospital and is also owner of a local small hospitality business. Amanda has demonstrated knowledge and skills in health, fundraising & events management, community and career development, mentoring, leadership, culture change and relationship management, and is also experienced in the banking, education, disability sectors. Amanda joined the Board in 2017 and also takes part int he Youth Choices Committee. She is a strong community professional, graduating from GCLP in 2014 and currently studying an MBA.

Mary Storie
Board Member

Mary Storie, Board Member
Mary was co-opted in the 2018-19 financial year as a member of the Board and was instrumental in her support during the development of MLSCC’s strategic plan.

Linda Fowler
Board Member